Shawn’s Place

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author
      Shawn Vanlandingham
      Participant

Deprecated: wp_make_content_images_responsive is deprecated since version 5.5.0! Use wp_filter_content_tags() instead. in /var/www/nextbukoutdoors.com/www/html/cms/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4777

Chapter #1 – Intro:

Hey all,

2011 found me fortunate enough to be able to purchase a piece of property in my area of Western Wisconsin. Before making the purchase, I studied the area a lot and I really believe with the right management, this property can provide all things a whitetail and even a turkey need (food, water, cover…etc). While my place isn’t located in the middle of Buffalo County, the potential is still there to have some quality animals.

Because my property needs habitat management, I’m starting this thread to document the changes over this season and beyond. I’m thrilled to start this because it’s not often that we get a chance to view what happens to a place from start to finish. Also, my house is on the property so we’ll be able to monitor how deer-human interaction (non-hunting) affect what I am trying to accomplish as we move along. My total acreage 56 acres so we’re talking about something that is more in line with what the average guy who owns property has to work with as opposed to the large scale farms often featured on tv.

As we move along, I’ll give you all a detailed description of the place, my future plans and what I am doing now to achieve my goal of having the best place I possibly can. I will also welcome any comments, accolades and criticisms as we go through this. In the end, maybe we’ll find out that as much as I tried, success is limited but then again maybe, just maybe we’ll have a Booner on the wall.

Enjoy the journey (I will also be shooting video of the progress)!

OHJRH